The Gift of “Good Becoming Normal”

‘Tis the season of giving and I found a few gifts online in the form of awesome websites. The first is a dog training website chock full of phenomenal training information. It’s called Dogmantics. If I could snap my fingers and fast forward into the future I would love to provide a resource like this for horses.

Until then, I recall the words of a wise dog trainer trainer. She once told me that it’s as easy to train a mouse as it is a killer whale. In my heart of hearts, I know that if you were to train your your horse just like the examples in the Dogmantic videos, you’d get the same outstanding results.

The gift the Dogmantics website delivers is that feeling of anything is possible with your four-legged friends with paws.

I found another blog called Kindred Animality that has fabulous links to all sorts of training that makes everyone feel good.

I’ve added a few new links to the Worth Visiting column as well.

Again, I couldn’t keep these discoveries to myself. Sites like these are true gifts that keep on giving and promote force-free training that I’m hoping will become the new normal.

PS:  If you’re in need of a tangible gifts, hoofprints.com is chock full of wonderful goodies. Check out one of my favorite gifts.  It’s the Same Sh*t, Different Day mug. With humor, it serves to positively reinforce all the hours my horses, pitchfork, wheelbarrow and I spend creating a lovely compost pile.

-cw

3 thoughts on “The Gift of “Good Becoming Normal”

  1. I honestly can’t even tell you how much joy it brought me when I stumbled across your website. I watched every single video, each one making me even happier than the last. I have to tell you, I am a big fan of DaVinci. I am so very impressed with your work with him, especially when you were running through the motions of mounting and allowing him to tell you when he was uncomfortable, and listening to him when he told you. It’s obvious the relationship between the two of you is very strong; he chooses to come back to you and to re-engage every time.

    It is so, so difficult to find people working together with horses instead of against them. I can’t thank you enough for what you’re doing to help these horses and the future of the human-horse relationship.

    • Yay! I’m so happy to hear your words. DaVinci is quite a guy. I truly value him as my greatest teacher. You totally identified the biggest shift that occurred for me, was when I saw I had to work with him instead of against him. He makes this so easy, I don’t even have to look for subtle cues. If he senses the tiniest bit of pressure, he just runs away. This is why I love liberty work so much. It truly allows the horse to have a huge ‘say’ in what happens in the relationship. I love seeing how much I gain, by letting go.

      I love your blog. Your links are outstanding and such a valuable resources. Thank you.
      Cheryl

Leave a Reply

